PRC's 90 gallon Build

PRC

Stop Quoting Me!
Just starting this thread to document my progress with my tank. Here's a breakdown of what I'm working with.

55 gallon tank
AquaClear 70
AquaEuro Protein Skimmer
40lbs. of Aragonite
Visi-Therm Submersible Heater

I cut a hole in the wall in the basement of my home and installed the tank, filled it up, salt, sand, and heat...Then I called my buddy who's a carpenter to come out and take a look at it so that he can build a frame around it for me. By the time he was done, we were talking about reinforcing this, and building that, and moving the tank out of his way so he could work, so now I'm emptying the tank! (what do I know about carpentry?, I run wire for a living)....He's going to be out on Friday to get started. I'm geeked.

At this point, I don't have LR, a light(s), or Koralia pumps and I'm open to suggestions. May go out this weekend to buy, depending on how the Superbowl goes for me. :mrgreen:

I'm excited to get the tank cycling but not in a hurry. I'm not a fast decision maker, so this build may take quite some time!

Here's my first and only pic to date.

Attachments

• DSCF0174.jpg
    DSCF0174.jpg
    18.9 KB · Views: 658
Re: PRC's 55 gallon Build

I think everyone here will agree that patience and taking it slow are keys to success in this hobby. Good luck it looks like it should be a fantastic addition!

Ok, Rwynn, I took your advice. I dismantled the 55g, I'm going to use it for the sump. I found a 90g tank on CL for $40.00. It was ugly as heck, but it cleaned up real good.

I began cutting the hole in the wall, and will get the 90 into place tomorrow. So now as far as the sump goes, I'm going to drill the hole(s) myself. I use a drill everyday at work, so I'm comfortable with that. I don't know the manufacturer of the tank, so I'll find some polarized glasses tomorrow to make sure it's not tempered. The guy I bought it from said it wasn't on the sides, but you know what they say about assuming.