Well, looks like ghetto is back

Melonbob

Reef enthusiast
This whole economy thing sucks! Mining took a really hard hit in the past month, started to crash about three days after Mel took a new job in it. Anyways we are really rethinking our tank, and although we are definately going to go through with it, my plan after the Catalina was to go with some really kick ass t5's. The only area of my tank I was going all out on. Now I'm back to looking at used MH......sigh.

I agree the economy blows right now. Id have to agree and go used now for know. And when the time is right get your kick ass lights. Its not a matter of if but when. (at least thats how it is on my lights)

Now I'm back to looking at used MH......sigh.
What's the problem with MH lighting? There are no lights more powerful. I've been using MH for 20 years. If you DIY, they are way cheaper than T5. $25 for a ballast on Ebay and $30 for a parabolic reflector/mogul base from Hello Lights.

Bob Halides arent ghetto at all! If you can find a way to save some cash on ballasts and splurge a little on reflectors you be right in the same boat as with the catalinas. I think actually think that if you went with T5 retros with the Icecap individual reflectors you could get away with them for similar pricing to doing halides. Just something to think about.

If you decide to go Halides I have two 250w magnetic ballasts that I will give you a great deal on. THey need a little bit of rewiring to make them look good(work great just ugly as sin) Let me know, if you dont want them Ill use them elsewhere.

EDIT There are also plans out there to build knockoff versions of highend reflectors too. All you need is to cut the aluminum and rivet them together.

Last edited: