Something is killing my shrimp :(

wcwright

Reefing newb
Something is killing my shrimp L . Hello my name is Casey I just got a 55 gal reef tank from some friend that moved out of town. I use the word reef tank lightly it has 35-40 lbs of live rock and some fish. Plus some almost dead coral. It took almost 2 mouths to get the tank in the good range. The coral came back and the salinity is normal. Sooo I started getting some snails and crabs. All is good then I get a cleaner shrimp. He’s in the tank for 5 hours and drops dead. Hmm I think maybe it was the shrimp just incase I check the water and did a water change. Some more time goes by and the water and the tank and coral are all happy …I think. So I go get a banded coral shrimp. In the tank he goes, looks like he’s having fun. I get up today and he’s deadL . I check the water all is good and the fish ,snails, crabs and coral all seem fine. I am new to this so don’t hate me for killing some shrimp. Any help would be grate I don’t want to kill shrimp.

The tank is 3-4 year old but I move it to my house 3 months ago. As for the shrimp I let them sit in the bag in the water for 1 hr then slowly mix my tank water with the water in the bag

Last edited:
have you ever used any copper in the tank?
you can try drip acclumating the shrimp.
that is just dripping water from your tank into the bag about one drop a second using airline tubing and a little valve. give that a try.

no copper in the tank that i know of i did get the tank from a friend and it took 3 months to get it into the green. can i test for copper? and i will try the drip next time i just feel bad killing shimp and dont want to kill again>

tank could be just to young and yes you can test for copper but everything else is fine so that should not be a problem i just read that you have coral in there to. shrimop are very sensitive to changes in the water.