New to Saltwater

MichaelR

Reefing newb
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to saltwater and have several questions that I would like to straighten out.

1. I've begun a cycle for a freshwater aquarium, but have since considered switching to saltwater. Do I need to first add the marine salt to the aquarium and then begin measuring the ammonia, nitrites and nitrates after adding pure ammonia?

2. I'm considering a fish only setup for now, as I've read they are simplest to switch to from freshwater. Apart from regular freshwater equipment, what additional things do I need purchase?

3. I'm confused; Do I add live rock to a fish only system, or not? Some people claim it is useful, but, from what I understand, with the addition of live rock you are sort of stepping into invertebrates, right? I believe that FOWLR and FO systems are different. FO systems are simplest, but do they become more complicated with the addition of live rock?

4. Water. What kind of water? Again, I believe FO systems are simplest, so I want to go with those. Is tap water fine? Should I be using DI/RO? I've heard of people buying distilled. Any information would help.

5. How often do you change water, and how, exactly? Do you siphon the crushed coral, and then add some pre-mixed saltwater with dechlorinator into the aquarium?

These are just a few of my starter questions, but as more pop up I'll be sure to post them.

Thanks very much,

Mike

Hello and welcome!