Need Help Setting up Tank

Tango

Reefing newb
Hi I'm completely new to Saltwater tanks.

I'm jumping in and getting a custom 125 gallon FOWLR

Is it possible to make the tank see through. Meaning no obstructions from the front and back panels?

My idea is to have the overflows (2) on each side of the tank. One on the left and one on the right panel, so you can see front to back without any plumbing etc. And one return possibly coming out of the left overflow.

Is this possible? What do I need to know about overflows? Do I need two? can they be slim to take up less space? Am I on the right track?

Hello and Welcome!

No, its not possible to make the tank totally see through because you need to have plenty of rock in there. The rock is your primary source of filtration, so you dont want to go skimping on it. But there are lots of very cool minimalist rockscapes out there.

And im not totally the right person to ask about the overflows, but i think your idea will work.

Here are some other good articles you should make sure you read and understand.
https://www.livingreefs.com/ideal-books-reef-keepers-t19535.html
https://www.livingreefs.com/basic-equipment-list-t19611.html
https://www.livingreefs.com/why-using-tap-water-bad-idea-t19865.html
https://www.livingreefs.com/cycling-tank-adding-fish-and-corals-t26452.html
https://www.livingreefs.com/water-chemistry-t31270.html

Research everything BEFORE you buy it, this is a very expensive hobby and mistakes are both costly and deadly, but easily preventable.

Thanks,

I know I sound like a total newb, but I've been researching for the past 2 months now

The only thing I have trouble on is the technicalities or the plumbing involved!

I will have rocks of course for the live rock, but I want to make the tank viewable from the front and the back because it will be separating a room. I guess I used the wrong term in see through lol! sorry to confuse you.

But thanks for your help!!