Hello

Jenna09

Reefing newb
Hello Everyone

I have been keeping salt water aquariums for 8 years. I started with a 55 gallon predator tank and have since switched to a 110 gallon reef aquarium.

I am here hoping to find out:
1. How to make a refugium.
2. What protein skimmer I should get (since the seal on mine broke yesterday). I had a Prizm that worked great for 5 years...I know probably worse little one to have but it really did work great for me.
3. How to get mushrooms and polyps (other than stars) to grow in my tank!

I currently have 5 clownfish (1 that is over 9 years old), a marine betta, blue tang, serpant star and some assorted hermit crabs/snails.

I have 2 brain corals, 2 leather umbrellas, millions of star polyps, a huge frogspawn, a huge donut and some other assorted leathers and polyps.

I had let my tank go for awhile and wasnt maintaining it as I should have been but I am back into it now with the passion I had before.

I look forward to reading threads on here and getting some of my questions answered.

Thanks
Jenna

Hi Jenna, how are you, Welcome to the site.
As far as making a refugium, it isnt difficult at all, there is alot of differant ways to make one and alot of differant opinions out there. What are the tank Dimensions?

Welcome to the site Jenna.Were happy to have you here.
Like Darren said,theres lots of ways to set up a refugium.You'll just have to decide which method is best for you.

So since I wrote my first post this morning something terrible has happened to my tank.

All of my fish but 1 clownfish are dead!

My salinity was high at 1.029 and I lowered it to 1.025 over the course of 5 hours yesterday.

My ammonia is reading inbetween 0 mg/l - 0.25mg/l and my nitrites were between 0.0 mg/l - 0.3mg/l. Everything else was normal.

My temp is 78.

I have no idea what has happened and either does my local supplier. I am devestated!