New To Hobby

tcarroll

Reefing newb
Hello All,
I am new to the hobby and getting ready to purchase my first setup.I have been looking at the BioCube 29 and was told by the person at the fish store that i can have it up and running for around $525.Now the question i have is are they good systems for begiiners or should i buil one from scratch?

Thank's

Tim

welcome to living reefs. actually, a nano can be more challenging to keep than a larger system. there's less water volume therefore much you will have much faster evaporation, and less room for error, and larger temperature swings. what makes them a good system is that you get everything you need in one box.

Thank's for the welcome and the reply.

I guess thats why i was kinda looking at the biocube.If i decided to build my own system what would i need to basicaly start it up.Are there any good book that tell you what and how to go about it.I had freshwater aquariums before but now i want to enture into the saltwater systems.I know i will love it,so i really would rather start out on the right foot,but start up budget is an issue too.

Those Bio-Cubes are good systems and a 29 gallon isnt going to be as tough to maintaine as say a 12 or 15 gallon.
Welcome to the reef BTW.

As far as the books go I have been recommended, The Conscientous Marine Aquarist by Bob Fenner, should be here this week just nabbed it off ebay for 15 bucks.

Also check out the "Helpful Articles" section up at the top here.

If you decide to buy that system, figure you'll need 30 to 60 lbs of live rock, which runs anywhere from $5/lb to $15/lb. Or you can buy base rock, which is cheaper, and then seed it with live rock to save money.

I want to say how overwhelmed i am at the response and advice i am getting.I am really looking forward to this new hobby,as i currently have an outdoor pond that i built myself a couple years ago.It is pretty easy to maintain,have goldfish and koi in it.Thank's again guy's and girl's for all the responses.