New Tank Setup ??

WWS

Reefing newb
I am new to salt water tanks I have a few qestions.

I have set up my tank with the salt water and live rock base. I let it sit for 24hrs before testing the water for nitrate, nitrite, pH, and ammonia, which none was present. Today I added live rock. Here are some questions.

1. I have some dead coral I found in hawaii that I want to add to my tank. What do I have to do to condition it for the tank??

2. How often should I test the water now that I have live rock in the tank??

3. How long until I add creatures?? Fish, hermet crabs, snails, live coral.

4. How often should I change water in the tank, and should I start keeping salt water available now for the changes??

Thanks for your help.

Last edited:
I am new to salt water tanks I have a few qestions.

I have set up my tank with the salt water and live rock base. I let it sit for 24hrs before testing the water for nitrate, nitrite, pH, and ammonia, which none was present. Today I added live rock. Here are some questions.

1. I have some dead coral I found in hawaii that I want to add to my tank. What do I have to do to condition it for the tank??I'm not 100% sure what is the best way.The best thing is to not put it in the tank,who knows what pollutants could be on them.But if you must,this is what I seen many do to clean dead coral decorations.Clean the dead coral in a bucket of tapwater and a few drops of bleach,soak overnight.Then pour that water out and add freshwater,some tapwater conditioner to remove the chlorine,let sit for a couple hours to make sure the chlorine is remove,add decor to tank.

2. How often should I test the water now that I have live rock in the tank??I would test SG/salinity everyday,Ammonia,nitrite,nitrate, and PH every 3-4 days while its cycling.I test once a week afterward or the next day after getting a new fish.