New Aquarium

dwinzent

Reefing newb
i have been setting up fw tanks for about 8 years and was finally encouraged to set up sw by a friend. i have a 120g tank that used to be a red lobster aquarium with a chiller and abot 1 in glass. i have a few questions though seems how this is my first reef.

1. what lighting is required?
2. what PH do i need to start my cycling? mine is about 8.0-8.1
3. what salinity and temps are best for reefs?
4. how big of a protein skimmer will i need?
5. what is the best livestock for a beginner?
6. are bio balls and wet dry filter a bad way to go?

thanks for any answers! I will probably need more help as my journey goes on.

Last edited:
i have been setting up fw tanks for about 8 years and was finally encouraged to set up sw by a friend. i have a 120g tank that used to be a red lobster aquarium with a chiller and abot 1 in glass. i have a few questions though seems how this is my first reef.

1. what lighting is required?That depends on the types of corals you like.But generally speaking,something along the lines of a 6 bulb with individual reflectors T-5s or even 175 watt metal halides will do the trick
2. what PH do i need to start my cycling? mine is about 8.0-8.1Thats a good PH.But its probably going to drop once you get ammonia going in there.No need to really worry about the PH untill after the cycles done.
3. what salinity and temps are best for reefs?1.024 to 1.026 I perfer mine at 1.026
4. how big of a protein skimmer will i need?Get one rated at least double the tank size and dont skimp here.Get the best you can afford,even if you have to sale your first born.:mrgreen:
5. what is the best livestock for a beginner?Trick question? A pair of clowns are good to start with.Just do your research on this one and pick a good hardy fish.Also stock slow.It takes time to build a reef,so go slow.1 or 2 fish every 3 or 4 weeks is the general rule of thumb.