Filtration Question

Rocktuna

Reefing newb
I used to keep Salt water tanks till about 10 years ago so I'm not a complete noob. Bought a tank a few weeks ago.
So I finally get the new/used tank up plumbed and all. Had a bit of a family emergency so it took a few weeks.
I went to the LFS and was talking to the guy about filtration plans. I plan on having a plenum with a good thick bed of live sand, I'll have about 80 to 100 lbs of live rock,(I already have about 40 lbs of base rock that I'll seed with live rock) plus a sump with bio balls in one half and live rock in the other, protein skimmer also.
The guy sez don't go with all that. Plenums and bio balls are both out. He sez all I need is an inch of live sand and 1 pound of live rock for each gallon. and live rock in the sump and of coarse the protein skimmer.
His way would be a lot cheaper......but.....I was always under the impression that more is better when it comes to filtration. In the past I just had a plenum with a 4 inch sand bed and a skimmer and had great results. This will be my first tank with a sump.

He is right about the bioballs, if you have 1 to 2 lbs of live rock per gallon, bioballs are unnecessary, and in fact tend to lead to big nitrate problems. I don't recommend the use of bioballs in saltwater tanks unless you are running a tank with little or no live rock.

As for plenums, there are mixed thoughts on those, although the vast majority of people do not use them. I am of the school of thought that 1 to 2 lbs of lvie rock per gallon and a good protein skimmer are usually enough filtration for any system.

Who did you get this info from? I didn't find anyone in our area that seems to know this hobby, they just want to sell. I usually go down to Lancaster at thefishplace for all my supplies and livestock.

By the way, welcome aboard!:mrgreen: