Decisions! Lil help...?

So i think im finally going to get a skimmer....:shock:....its going to be my reef tank, 10th month going..fought a lil battle with red slime but its gone. Always had a good clean tank. So instead of getting another tattoo, im going to buy a skimmer...im a noob to how to even hook one up. Its going to have to be a HOB because i have no fuge...

Asking what are the pro's and con's to a skimmer? Your expierance with or without one? What would be the best fit for my 46g tank? 50lbs of LR bout 60lbs of substrate...I asked Sarah a while ago and i think she saif this one would be good.

Reef Octopus BH 100 Hang on Back Protein Skimmer - AquaCave

Would i need anything else for it? Im such a noob. HELP!:mrgreen:

Also, what about a 20g tall? THis hob filter i got is soooo noisy!

Cons - Noisy, can overflow, removes nutrients from the water (sometimes too efficiently), use electricity.

Pros - Removes nutrients from the water, drastically improves water quality (by removing organic particulates before they rot), acts as a "mechanical" filter to keep your water clear (in reality, it's chemical filtration), oxygenates the water SIGNIFICANTLY, improves flow

A tank without a skimmer is going to require more LR or LS and a lot more careful attention to avoid overloading the tank.

They're great to have, especially for beginners. It allows you to be a little more flexible with how you maintain the tank and what you keep. It will allow your tank to be more forgiving for a higher bioload and heavier feedings.

On my new tank, I'm going to go without one, because I want to have a decent amount of suspended nutrients, but low nitrates/phos by using an algae scrubber. Algae Turf Scrubbers are becoming more and more popular over expensive skimmers, but require, in my opinion, a little more knowledge to "get right".

I'd suggest this one instead - in my opinion, it's a cleaner set up and a little more powerful. I used one for 2 years with great luck!