Self observation

wontonflip

I failed Kobayashi Maru
Reaction score
I have had at least 8-10 years experience in freshwater. Then I stopped for a few years...then I became a marine tank keeper. I've been knee deep in saltwater stuff the past 4 months.

And now, I'm starting up a 10 gallon freshwater guppy tank for my daughter...I have NO clue where to begin!! LOL I'm at a complete loss for some reason in getting it started because some of the equipiment is different! I've actually had to go back to this other fw forum I used to frequent and start from scratch.

It's crazy. For some reason now, I keep having a strong urge to make the 10 gallon a reef tank instead, but my daughter doesn't want it, even if I tried to bribe her with a cute li'l goby :) I now find saltwater much easier, mainly because I've got all the equipment and necessary tools already.

That's just me, I guess :mrgreen:

salt is so easy once you get the hang of it. a couple months ago my son won a goldfish at is schools carnivial and i had to set up a tank for him and was at a loss i have not had a fresh tank for 10 or 12 years but i did still have somethings for it i to was lost at first.

Glad I'm not the only one! Hehehe. Saltwater really IS easy once you get it all set up.

saltwater is the only tank i have ever had, i have grown up around them and now i have my own, no fresh crappy fish for me

i personally hated fish tanks when i saw them because they have always been primarily freshwater and i think theyre boring as hell. when i first met alex and he told me he had a few tanks i was like ugh....great....but theyre incredible. saltwater just poses so much more of a challenge and reward. its incredible to just sit and watch everything. i dont think i could truly appreciate a freshwater still.....just not my thing