Paint it?

dirt1008

Marine Enthusiast
This might be a fairly obvious answer but then again I am a noob. Should I paint the back of my tank?, does everybody? Maybe if there are varying opinions I could get some pictures?

I think painting it is the way to go. It will make the colors in your tank pop, and it will hide any wires or cords you have hanging down.

I use regular old spray paint. It only costs a few bucks to paint the whole back of the tank, and is easy to use.

Edit: Be sure to paint the outside of the tank, not the inside. ;)

I say paint it too. I never had a background on my FW tanks but, decided to paint them when I converted to SW. It looks 100 times better now. If you paint, cover the top opening and tape the sides to avoid overspray.

The other alternative, if you're worried about not liking it is to go get some posterboard that is the color that you want your background and put it on the back.

I painted mine black and now wish I would have gone with a dark blue color. Word of warning: Use a mask when you paint!!! When I did mine, I figured "oh, this will only take a few minutes" and it actually was pretty quick. Shortly after, I noticed a strange feeling in my nostrils. Looked in the mirror and they were black! Eeewww. Should have taken a picture because in retrospect, it was kinda funny.

I painted mine black and now wish I would have gone with a dark blue color. Word of warning: Use a mask when you paint!!! When I did mine, I figured "oh, this will only take a few minutes" and it actually was pretty quick. Shortly after, I noticed a strange feeling in my nostrils. Looked in the mirror and they were black! Eeewww. Should have taken a picture because in retrospect, it was kinda funny.

Think of as dye for nose hair.:mrgreen:

I used a black shower curtian on mine.That way I didnt have to wait for paint to dry.