need help

sg hillbilly

Reefing newb
hi I am just getting started and bought my first anemonie and when I put it in my tank it just floated around how do I get it to stay in place or have I done someting wrong?

Anemones need mature tanks so if you are just starting out you nor your tank is ready for one.
Is it rolling around on the bottom or actually floating? Turn off any power heads that are running in your tank. What kind of anemone do you have?

If your tank is still new I'd get rid of it otherwise you run the risk of killing it. Also, if you are looking to do a reef, people (most) stay away from nems. They move around freely and can sting other corals, and god forbid one ever gets sucked in to a power head and it's stingers get sent around the tank, kiss your livestock/corals good bye. But, it's your tank, and I wish you the best of luck on it, whatever you decide to do.

Actually, yes, I did. I had a condy for a short while. It latched on to a rock and stayed there for about a week before it started roaming around and came within a few inches of my zoa colony, zoa frag, and white star polyp. So yeah, do some research. A lot of people recommend staying away from them. But I forgot, no one knows more then you ;).

You are on every page stating "facts" you had one for a week. Really doing some research there. You purchased a condy, a ten dollar piece that loves to roam and in a new set up. I have done my research, im not looking for the plus 1s then post. Lets see, salt for brains, u running any nems?