Living Reef Led lighting

algy1943

Reefing newb
believe it or not my long awaited Led's are arriving today, as you know they are a lot more powerful than my 4x39w T5, so, do I build up the lights above to top of the tank and then gradually lower them to acclimatise everything in the tank to the additional power, if so how high above the tank would you think advisable?

Advice from anyone as a matter of urgency woud be appreciated

algy1943 :frustrat:

I would guess (because I have no experience with this) that you should start at the height of the depth of your tank. So if your tank is 20" deep then I'd start there. Twenty inches above the tank then lower it an inch or two every week or so.

At least this post will bump it up and maybe someone else will respond.
BTW details on the light and some pics would be great! Good luck.

The best way to go would probably do as duncan said but personaly I would just put them in where I wanted them permanently as I doubt anything would die from such a change unless they were already unhealthy.

I would guess (because I have no experience with this) that you should start at the height of the depth of your tank. So if your tank is 20" deep then I'd start there. Twenty inches above the tank then lower it an inch or two every week or so.

Hi Duncan, have just installed, not being sure how high above the tank have set it at 30cm, had a nightmare finding the joists to get good fixing, the heteractis Crispa seems happier.:bounce:

Attachments

• 016 new light resized.jpg
    016 new light resized.jpg
    3.9 KB · Views: 373
Last edited:
Those are some good looking lights.

The easiest way to acclimate your tank to the light,is to start the new lights by just running them for 8 hours a day.Then after a week,start adding 15 minutes a day until your back up to the 10/12 hour mark.

Those are some good looking lights.