I Am Veeeeery New!

Waddi

Shenanigans?
As by the title you can see that i am new to this gig. I have a freshwater tank at the moment here is a picture with one shark (because he is a bully):
Photo0196.jpg

I was just wondering what i need to setup a new tank, on my list i have:

New gravel (Sand)
Fan (Water circulation)
Protien skimmer
And maybe a new filter i have a Elite Hush 20 (But i dont think it works with saltwater)
Already have heater.

Anything else im missing apart from live rock and fish?!?!?! :D

Hello and welcome!

Definitely go with sand over any other type of substrate. Pass on gravel or crushed coral.

Depending on what size tank you have, you may need more than one powerhead for water movement.

If you get a protein skimmer, then you will not need any other type of filter.

If you want a reef tank, you will need lights.

For live rock, aim for 1 to 2 lbs per gallon of tank size.

Saltwater is slower than freshwater, a good rule of thumb is to add no more than 1 fish every 3 weeks. Also, you are much more limited for space than in freshwater. 1 fish per 10 gallons is a good rule to follow.

Other than that, you will need a hydrometer or refractometer to measure the salinity of the water, you will need salt (obviously!) and saltwater test kits for pH, alkalinity, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate.

OK. I have a Sun Glo T5 15W Lamp.
I was thinking about getting Geo Systems Natural sand but i didnt know if it was suitable for a saltwater tank.
I have a 50 Gallon tank, so maybe 25lb of live rock?? Ohh and how would i obtain Coral or live plants like anomene (Bad spelling?) I did see some at the local pet store (Petcetra for anyone who lives in Nova Scotia) But didnt know if they would sell it.
I am having to order in from America on amazon because i cannot find any decent Skimmers.